Small People

Small People

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Fruit of the Spirit - Love

Image courtesy of

A few weeks ago, the Lord laid on my heart that I needed to make some changes in our home. I had become really focused on getting academics done, and the hearts of my small people were being neglected. Sure, we were doing our Bible time each morning, but their attitudes toward each other and toward me were poor. My attitude was also lacking. Something needed to change.

After thinking and praying about it, I decided that I was going to do a unit on the Fruit of the Spirit. I wanted to spend a week on each Fruit. To Google and Pinterest I went. While I found a lot of lessons designed for Sunday School classes, but not a lot for a homeschool unit. I would need to create my own.

(Disclaimer: Our week is only 4 days long because we go to a homeschool co-op one day each week.)

Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

Week 1 - Love

Day 1 
  • Introduce the Fruit of the Spirit, going over Galatians 5:22-23.
  • Read Matthew 22:36-40. Discuss the Great Commandments of loving God and loving others. Discuss who are our neighbors.
  • List ways to show love to others. I sent them to do this individually, and then we came together to compile our list.
Day 2
  • Read 1 Corinthians 13.
  • Go through each verse listing what God says love is.
Day 3
  • Read a story book. List examples of loving and unloving behavior found in the book. (Any book can be used for this, but I highly recommend using any version of The Ugly Duckling. It has great examples of both.)
Day 4
  • Read Matthew 5:44-45 and Luke 6:35. Talk about loving our enemies. 
  • Read John 13:34-35. Talk about how others can know we love Jesus. Discuss who we can show love to this week and how. (Refer back to the list made on Day 1.)
Here is the list we came up with on Day 2 as we went through 1 Corinthians 13.
  • Love is patient.
  • Love is kind.
  • Love is not jealous.
  • Love does not boast or brag.
  • Love is humble.
  • Love is respectful.
  • Love puts others first.
  • Love doesn't get angry easily.
  • Love doesn't hit or yell at others.
  • Love speaks kindly about other people.
  • Love encourages others to do the right thing.
On Day 4, I gave them the freedom to choose who they wanted to do something for and what they wanted to do. The Boy made brownies for the family, Little Red made a bracelet for a new friend, and the other girls made cards for their teachers at Sunday School and our homeschool co-op.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...