Small People

Small People

Thursday, May 2, 2019

The Hamelin Stoop Series Review

Brailey is a huge fan of the fantasy genre, but finding books that are appropriate is sometimes difficult. The Hamelin Stoop Series by Robert B. Sloan from 12 Gates Publishing is a brand new series that is bridging the gap between middle grades and young adult fantasy. We were excited to have the opportunity to review the first two books in the series.

For this review, we received two paperback books - Hamelin Stoop: The Eagle, The Cave, and the Footbridge (Book 1) and Hamelin Stoop: The Lost Princess and the Jewel of Periluna (Book 2). The books also came with two bookmarks printed on glossy card stock.

As soon as the package of books arrived at our house, I had just enough time to snap a picture of the books before Brailey whisked them away up to her room to begin devouring them. Once she finished the books, I was able to get a chance to start reading them. I'm not nearly as speedy a reader as she is so I haven't quite finished both of them yet.

Hamelin Stoop: The Eagle, The Cave, and the Footbridge introduces us to the main character Hamelin Stoop, explains how he ended up in the children's home as a newborn, explains how he received his strange name, and begins his adventure of leaving the children's home to find his parents. The quote on the bookmarks received with the books, "Keep Waiting, Keep Hoping," comes from a letter Hamelin receives from a friend.

Hamelin Stoop: The Lost Princess and the Jewel of Periluna continues Hamelin's adventure in his quest to find his parents. Guided by the Great Eagle, Hamelin finds himself in the middle of a war between the Ancient One and the Chimera - a classic battle of good vs. evil. He has to help two friends find a kidnapped princess and the missing jewel. On this adventure, he has to overcome many physical and psychological difficulties and dangers.

Since Brailey has read both books, I've asked for her assistance in writing this review. Here's what she had to say about the books:
The first two books in the Hamelin Stoop series are a great introduction to the characters and world in which they live. They provide great insight into the incredible world of Hamelin Stoop. The first book, Hamelin Stoop: The Eagle, The Cave, and the Footbridge, focuses more on world and character building while the second book, Hamelin Stoop: The Lost Princess and the Jewel of Periluna, is very heavy on action and fighting. Both immerse you into the world of these characters as well as their troubles and the steps they take to right the wrongs of their lives. The characters are all compelling people who seem to jump right out of the page and come to life before your eyes.
These books are directed toward the middle school and early high school age group. They provide a great transition from ‘little kid’ fantasy adventure books to more adult type fantasy adventure books. They have more depth than books that are centered toward young children and yet do not have too much depth as to overwhelm the reader. The action is exciting and the decisions made by the characters have motives that a young teenager can understand quite well. As most of the main characters are children themselves, the reader can relate easily to them and understand the reasons why they choose to do what they do.
I very much enjoyed these books and cannot wait to read the rest of the series! The action is enthralling, and the characters are well thought out and executed. I am almost in the middle of the age range of targeted readers for this series and, as such, was able to thoroughly understand the characters' motivations and thought processes. The story line weaved between the two books is well thought out and seamlessly connected. The fantasy aspect is an interesting thing to explore and dig through. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series as soon as I am able.
12 Gates Publishing is anticipating this being a 6 or 7 book series, and, as you can see, Brailey is anxiously awaiting Book 3.

You can find out more about the Hamelin Stoop series and 12 Gates Publishing on social media:

Are you interested in what other reviewers have to say about the Hamelin Stoop series? Check out more reviews from the Homeschool Review Crew.
The Eagle, The Cave, and the Footbridge (Book 1) & The Lost Princess and the Jewel of Periluna (Book 2) {12 Gates Publishing  Reviews}
Crew Disclaimer

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by Tales of a Pee Dee Mama. I love to hear from my friends!

Your comment will be made public once it has gone through moderation.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...